Skip To Main Content

Curriculum Guides

Content standards are designed to define the knowledge, concepts, and skills that students should acquire at each grade level. California joined with the majority of states across our nation and adopted the same standards for both English Language Arts and Mathematics. These standards are known as the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). The Common Core State Standards provide a consistent, clear understanding of what students are expected to learn, even if they change schools, districts or states.

The Common Core State Standards are robust, relevant to the real world, and align with college and workplace expectations. They include rigorous content material and promote application of higher-order thinking skills. Each year’s standards build upon the strengths and lessons of standards in prior years.

     California Content Standards
     CCSS Language Arts
     CCSS Math

The California Framework provides guidance for the implementation of the rigorous Common Core State Standards. These Frameworks assist in the development of curriculum, instruction, assessment, and instructional materials. Note: there is currently a new and updated math framework being finalized but is still in progress.

     CA Language Arts Framework
     CA Mathematics Framework

The Council of the Great City Schools' Parent Roadmaps in English language arts/literacy and Mathematics provide guidance to parents about what their children will be learning and how they can support that learning in grades K-8.

     Common Core State Standards Parent Roadmaps (ELA & Math)